The Team

Professor Richard Hillis

Chief Executive Officer

Richard Hillis is CEO of the DET CRC. He graduated BSc (Hons) from Imperial College (London), and PhD from the University of Edinburgh and was previously Mawson Professor of Geology and Head of the Australian School of Petroleum (University of Adelaide). Richard is also a non-executive director of ASX-listed Petratherm and of AuScope.

E: | Ph: 08 8375 8481

Ian Hardwick

Chief Financial Officer

Ian Hardwick joined the DET CRC in April 2011 after having spent 9 years working in private practice at an Adelaide based accounting firm where he was a Manager, Business Services. Ian holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of South Australia and is a Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.

E: | Ph:  08 8375 8482


Robbie Rowe

Manager Research Integration (Drilling Trials and Products)

Robbie Rowe joined DET CRC in April 2015. Robbie is a Geologist with over 28 years of experience at both technical leadership and management of generative, greenfield to brownfield exploration programs and associated large resource drilling projects in gold and copper throughout the Australia, Africa and Asia Pacific region.

E: | Ph:  08 8375 8483

Anna Porter

Communications and Administration Manager

Anna Porter joined the DET CRC in September 2011 following an intergovernmental relations role with the Local Government Association of South Australia. Anna holds a degree in Political Science and Psychology from the University of Auckland, New Zealand.

E: | Ph:  08 6436 8630

Soren Soe

Program 1 Leader, DET CRC

Soren Soe has held various Project, Engineering and Executive leadership positions since completing his Bachelor of Science in Engineering in 1991. He has worked extensively with leading the development of onshore drilling rigs for mineral exploration, production holes, geotechnical applications and Coiled Tubing rigs for the oil and Gas industry. During his career Soren has expatriated to China, The Netherlands and Poland with such companies as Knebel Drilling A/S, Boart Longyear and A.P.Moller Maersk.

E: | Ph:  08 8375 8464

Brett Harris

Program 2 Leader, Curtin University

Brett Harris is an Associate Professor and has a BSc (Hons) and PhD in Geophysics with over 20 years industry and academic experience. Brett’s work history spans exploration for a wide range of commodities in Australia, Asia and South America. He has initiated and led numerous research projects focused on advancement of geophysical technologies.

E: | Ph: 08 9266 3089

Professor David Giles

Program  3 Leader, DET CRC/University of South Australia

Prof David Giles is the John Ralston Chair and Strand Leader of Minerals and Resources Engineering at the Future Industries Institute at the University of South Australia – a role that he began just two short weeks ago.  In a much longer association, Prof Giles is Program 3 Leader (Targeting) of the Deep Exploration Technologies CRC (DET CRC).  Prof Giles has over 20 years’ experience in minerals exploration research spanning the boundaries of industry and academia.

E: | Ph:  08 8302 3485