October 2017: 2017 Annual Award Recipients

Posted on October 9, 2017 by DET CRC

Frank Samani (left) and Masood Mostofi (right) recipients of the 2017 Best Technology Prize.

Congratulations to the following Annual Prize recipients at our Annual Conference.

Best Technology Prize: Frank Samani and Mosood Mostofi (both Curtin University) from the ‘Coiled Tubing Drilling for Mineral Exploration’ team for CTrol® and CTrolX®, the drilling fluid systems for the RoXplorer® coiled tubing drill rig. You can check our Frank’s camo in our RoXplorer® Field Trials Overview video here.

Best Paper Prize: PhD student Le Van Anh Cuong (Curtin University) supervised by Dr Brett Harris and Dr Andrew Pethick for his paper titled ‘Semiautomatic and Automatic Cooperative Inversion of Seismic and Magnetotelluric Data’ published in ‘Surveys in Geophysics’. This paper can be found on Cetnric via report number 2015/730.

2017 PhD Student Prize: Petroleum Engineering PhD student Hongyang Zhang (Curtin University) for his presentation on ‘Experimental and numerical simulations on particle tracking of rock cuttings in coiled tube drilling’. Hongyang will join the team as PDAC 2018 as reward for his efforts.